Thursday, April 15, 2010

Printing Tip

Printing Selected Layouts in Navigator greyed out?

This can be made available .....

If you close the organiser and only have the Navigator open.



(Thanks to Patrick for this tip)


Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Cadimage Door & Window Builder - schedules

In a door and/or window schedule, you can add customised notes under each item. IN AC13 these notes have been made 'bi-directional', which really aids usability. You can edit items in the model or drawn schedule items(!)
Note well - to utilise the 'bi-directional' link you cannot just click the update button - you must use the relevant buttons in the toolbar (added in the GBA work environment*). The blue arrows intuitively show -update schedule or update model (respectively).

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Modelling example

Link to a student project demonstrating a pretty intense use of ArchiCAD's rather rudimentary modelling tools - in case you missed it.

Slab edge editing feature - materials

Subdividing a slab edge by adding nodes along it will allow you to assign different material to each segment.


Picture 2.png

(Warning: slanting any edge of the slab will void all your previous efforts Ref. http://archicad-talk.graphisoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=166856#166856).

Monday, March 29, 2010

2D display problems?

(Update on this post- Arkiklub support advises updating to latest drivers - worth a try but does not necessarily work..)

Ac13 appears to come complete with display problems, even with latest hardware, 64bit windows and AC, etc etc.! Examples include:
- display goes blank
- dimension strings incorrectly displayed
(Quick) fix:
Options>Work Environment>Advanced Redraw Options
Turn '2D Drawing Hardware Acceleration Level' to 'Off'



Personalised font

Link to website where you can create a font of your handwriting - maybe not suitable for the office but fun for personal use! (Warning - There is a fee involved..)

Solid Element Operations - SEOs


Link to ArchicadWiki describing SEOs and the way they can be used.

Link to ArchicadWiki describing some benefits of SEOs.

Custom Profiles & 3D Profiler

Link to ArchicadWiki describing custom profiles and the way they can be used.

Link to 3D Profiler help

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Opening and closing a Teamwork (TW2) project

Opening:


When you are opening a Teamwork project check the name in the top of the dialog box.
If different users are using the same computer (and do not have separate windows profiles) it is possible to inadvertently sign in as someone else! If the name is not yours, click on the icon shown on the top right hand corner of the dialog. Here you can change the user who will sign in.


Closing:

When you finish working for the day, do not leave the project; just Close it. This means that the local copy of your project is kept on your local disk, so you can easily continue working from it next time you open the project. The next day, you will not have to join the project (you are already joined in); just Open it. As long as you are joined in to a Teamwork Project, you can Open or Close the project as many times as you like, without losing your reservations or dumping your local copy. However, once you leave the project (as opposed to closing it), you lose your reservations and dump your local copy. It is recommended that you do not leave the project unless you do not plan to work on it any more in the foreseeable future.

Typically, you will leave a Teamwork project when you no longer participate in it, or when you want to work on different hardware (say work from laptop at home instead of desktop in the office).

Ensure you 'Release All' before you close the project to avoid upsetting your team members....or else the reserved elements are locked until you next open the project and release them.

(Italics = from ArchicadWiki)

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Office fun

Click on the title to go to the website.
The software has been downloaded and is ready for you to try in the Software folder on the server....if you are interested!
Requirements: Vista or Windows 7 (32/64 bit), Office 2007 or Office 2010 (32/64 bit)
Limitations: English only, Works with Word, Excel, and PowerPoint only, Does not support versions of Office earlier than Office 2007

Friday, January 8, 2010

Nudge

A quick way to move elements on the screen is to use the Nudge feature: select one or more elements, then use Shift + arrow key (Left/Right/Up/Down) to move the element left, right, up or down.

The Nudge factor - the increment by which you will move the element - is the same as the distance entered for your Snap Grid in View > Grid Options > Grids & Background.

To Nudge a selected element in larger increments, use Shift + Alt +
an arrow key. This will move the selected elements by the distance
entered for your Construction Grid in View > Grid Options > Grids & Background.

(Thanks mathewjj post)